A-League: The 2019/20 squad so far

Ernie Merrick’s squad ahead of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season is starting to take shape, with much of the past season’s side sticking together.

In total, Newcastle have 19 players contracted for next season with 18 of those signed to full contracts.

With Matt Ridenton currently the only visa player locked in, it means that Merrick has the option of having four more internationals jet in.

The experienced trio at the heart of defence will look to go another year with Glen Moss, Nigel Boogaard, and Nikolai Topor-Stanley back on board for 2019/20.

Nigel Boogaard

Looking to earn their stripes this season will be Noah James and Jack Simmons, both on scholarship contracts.

They’ll want to follow the path blazed by Angus Thurgate and Pat Langlois who signed full contracts after impressing as scholarship players.

Matt Millar is the only signing at this early stage, with the Central Coast Mariners man set to link up with the Club for the first day of pre-season.

Goalkeepers: Lewis ITALIANO, Glen MOSS
Defenders: Ivan VUJICA, Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY, Nigel BOOGAARD, Johnny KOUTROUMBIS, Lachlan JACKSON, Matt MILLAR (signed from Mariners)
Midfielders: Steven UGARKOVIC, Ben KANTAROVSKI, Pat LANGLOIS, Matt RIDENTON, Jack SIMMONS (scholarship), Jason HOFFMAN, Angus THURGATE