Taggart selected in World Cup squad

Newcastle Jets striker Adam Taggart has been selected in the Socceroos' final 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Newcastle Jets striker Adam Taggart has been selected in the Socceroos' final 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Jets goalkeeper Mark Birighitti was omitted from Ange Postecoglu's squad, but will remain in Brazil with the Australian team ahead of their opening World Cup match against Chile on June 14 (AEST).

Birighitti is expected to serve as a back-up for fellow shot-stopper Mitch Langerak, who is carrying a knee injury.

The squad will be captained by midfielder Mile Jedinak with Tim Cahill, Mark Bresciano and Mark Milligan becoming the first Australian football players to represent the Socceroos at three World Cup tournaments following the 2006 and 2010 FIFA World Cup finals.

The Socceroos squad is made up of three goalkeepers, six defenders, 10 midfielders and four strikers with seven of the 23 players currently playing in the Hyundai A-League.

As well as Birighitti, the other players to miss out on the final squad are Josh Kennedy, Tom Rogic and Luke Wilkshire.

“Every step of the selection process has been difficult because the players have worked very hard since they came into camp but we have had to weigh up form, fitness and squad balance in coming up with the 23 players who will represent Australia at the 2014 World Cup,” Postecoglou said.

“We-ve selected a squad that can do Australia proud and they will walk out onto the pitch for the World Cup in the green and gold shirt and display the characteristics that define our country.

“Our stated aim is to make our country proud, show the world what Australians are made of and test ourselves against the very best football players in the world and this group of players is capable of doing that.”


Oliver BOZANIC FC Luzern, SWITZERLAND Mark BRESCIANO Al Gharafa, QATAR Tim CAHILL New York Red Bulls, USA Jason DAVIDSON SC Heracles Almelo, NETHERLANDS Ivan FRANJIC Brisbane Roar, AUSTRALIA Eugene GALEKOVIC Adelaide United, AUSTRALIA Ben HALLORAN Fortuna Dusseldorf, GERMANY James HOLLAND FK Austria Vienna, AUSTRIA Mile JEDINAK Crystal Palace FC, ENGLAND Mitchell LANGERAK B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, GERMANY Mathew LECKIE FSV Frankfurt 1899, GERMANY Massimo LUONGO Swindon Town FC, ENGLAND Ryan McGOWAN Shandong Luneng Taishan FC, CHINA Matt McKAY Brisbane Roar, AUSTRALIA Mark MILLIGAN Melbourne Victory, AUSTRALIA Tommy OAR FC Utrecht, NETHERLANDS Mat RYAN Club Brugge KV, BELGIUM Matthew SPIRANOVIC Western Sydney Wanderers, AUSTRALIA Adam TAGGART Newcastle Jets, AUSTRALIA James TROISI Melbourne Victory, AUSTRALIA Dario VIDOSIC FC Sion, SWITZERLAND Alex WILKINSON Jeonbuk Hyundai, KOREA REPUBLIC Bailey WRIGHT Preston North End FC, ENGLAND